The Nick Walters-led nonet Paradox Ensemble has just released Entanglement, a new EP issued by the north-west of England jazz label, Efpi records. Walters, a trumpeter with the Beats & Pieces big band, has drawn on a range of influences, according to Efpi, also home to Anton Hunter and B&P, ranging from Gil Evans to Tortoise for this new work. Paradox Ensemble debuted at the Manchester Jazz Festival over the weekend. Joining Walters (trumpet and electronics) are: Tom Harrison (alto saxophone), Ed Cawthorne (tenor sax, bass clarinet, vibraphone), Tim Cox (trombone), Ben Kelly (sousaphone), Aidan Shepherd (accordion), Rebecca Nash (piano, keyboards), Paul Michael (bass), and Yussef Dayes (drums). Tracks are ‘Hitch Slap’, ‘LJM’, title track ‘Entanglement’, and ‘Photo 51.’