Misha Mullov-Abbado and Andrew Woodhead are the 2014 winners of the Dankworth prize for Jazz Composition.

Established by businessman Art Mead seven years ago with the support of Sir John Dankworth and administered by the jazz programme of the Worshipful Company of Musicians, Royal Academy of Music postgraduate student Misha Mullov-Abbado won the Dankworth prize and £1,000 for ‘New Ansonia’ in the big band category.

In the small band section Birmingham-based pianist Andrew Woodhead was the 2014 Dankworth winner, for his piece ‘Sabbo’, a prize worth £500.

The winners were selected by a judging panel comprised of saxophonists Tim Garland and Frank Griffith and pianist Nikki Iles. The new winners’ work were among the pieces programmed for this evening’s concert given at the new Milton Court venue in the city of London by the Guildhall School of Music and Drama Big Band, conducted by Scott Stroman.

Listen to the winning compositions by clicking on the links, above